Besties

besties

“‘Best Friend’ isn’t a person, it’s a tier.” – Mindy Kaling

All the cities I’ve lived in have brought “best friends.” If you name a city I’ve lived in for more than three months, I can name you it’s bestie without hesitation. I know it sounds silly, but I can’t think of a better term for them. I associate the whole city with them, and think about them often even if we haven’t spoken for years. Thanks to facebook, email, etc., I can still have constant (though probably infrequent and somewhat superficial) connection to them. I can shoot my Beijing bestie an email when I hear our favorite-terrible-pop-song on the radio; get a skype chat message from my Nairobi bestie letting me know she’s moving to Dhaka, Bangladesh (neighbors!); or read about a new cocktail recipe from my Los Angeles bestie’s blog. Maybe it’s that I don’t have the luxury of defining best friends by days spent together, or maybe it’s because a more mobile generation has changed traditional notions of friendship. For me my best friends are the ones who have seen me at my worst but think of me as the best, and who I always miss the most after I leave. Hope all my besties are having a good day. Miss you much.

One thought on “Besties

  1. I totally agree!! I think that the new more mobile generation has a much wider and super cool definition of bestie!

Leave a Reply

