100th Post

100th post

This is my 100th post on Meet Me Here & There. I was sitting in my parents’ driveway when my old friend Emily suggested I have a blog after I move to India. I was completely touched, but at first I didn’t take it seriously. I went back to DC the following week and mentioned the idea to my girlfriends, who were even more supportive. I started jotting down ideas for what my blog would be about – career, travel, food, moving – and finally, 2 months into living here, I bought a domain and made a commitment to post five times a week, rain or shine.

I always thought about having a blog but felt completely intimidated – what if I don’t have the time? What if people make fun of me? What if no one reads it? 100 posts later those risks are all still there, but why I blog has grown. I’ve kept in touch with family and friends – my mom emails me if my blog post is late, or my friend Natalia (incredibly busy medical student) constantly says, “Thank god for your blog,” when we don’t communicate for weeks on end. I get to have conversations and share insights with my in-laws in Seattle, or hear about Delhi tips from helpful bloggers I’ve never even met.

Most importantly, I reflect and create around what really interests me and see how others respond immediately. I can write (in an informal “blog” style) quicker and take better photos than I could six months ago, and have more ideas everyday on how to make the blog something I like more (which is hard for us Type A’s). The best part of a daily blog is that no matter how disatisfied a perfectionist is with a post – there is always tomorrow. Happy 100th post and thanks for all the feedback and support. See you tomorrow!

6 thoughts on “100th Post

  1. Congratulations on making it to your 100th post! It seems you just started your blog not too long ago…..I am looking forward to your blog every week day – rain or shine. 🙂

  2. Congratulations! I think all of us bloggers feel the same way as you do now- the unknown territory. Some day you will be able to look back at your blogs and relive every moment of your life and think – thank goodness I took the time to document my wonderful life.

    1. Exactly – thanks so much! I’m sure I’ll also look back and say, “WHAT was I thinking???!” with some of these posts since we’re always experimenting. But the pros far out way the cons!!

      1. Ha-ha I didn’t think of it that way but you are probably correct. At least you will be the one telling your most embarrassing moments instead of others.

Leave a Reply

