Gettin’ Stitched

DSC_0107

I went to my neighborhood market this weekend to get fabric for summer clothes. The best way to beat Delhi heat is to wear all cotton “pajama” suits – three peice suits (pants, shirt, and scarf) are the standard summer ladywear everywhere in South Asia. I remember the first time I heard about these “suits” I pictured Ann Taylor Loft, when I should have been picturing MC Hammer (which is, by the way, a world more comfortable).  You can go to just about any fabric store to pick out three coordinated peices of fabric to bring to your tailor for a custom made suit. They actually won’t let you buy any peice indiviudally; you have to buy all three. By next week I should be able to show some of the final products from this market and others I’ve found along the way. Happy sewing!

DSC_0109 2

DSC_0112

DSC_0530

2 thoughts on “Gettin’ Stitched

Leave a Reply

