Daily Commute

DSC_0332

Asking how you get around the city is a big lifestyle question in Delhi.  It says a lot about your “status” and willingness to deal with many elements: crowds, heat, negotiating, etc.  I get around mostly by auto-rickshaws, which are really convenient in some ways (they are everywhere and very affordable), but not effortless by any means.  My day usually starts and ends with multiple autowala (auto-rickshaw driver) negotiations, as some won’t go where I want to, or want to overcharge me. It can be painful somedays, but it is in the least good daily Hindi practice.  And I still don’t mind the open air commute while the weather lasts.

DSC_0967 DSC_0970 DSC_0972 DSC_0973 DSC_0976 DSC_0964

3 thoughts on “Daily Commute

  1. Do you have a consistent schedule? If so, you can probably get the same one to pick you up every morning. I don’t do rickshaws, but we always work out a deal with a taxi driver if we’re in Delhi for a short trip and don’t need a car service.

    1. That is definitely what I’ll do for summer when the heat gets really bad. I’ll probably work out a deal with one of my neighborhood taxi drivers, otherwise just hope that I can book radio taxis!

Leave a Reply

