Family Ties

DSC_0036

{Sunset dinner in Udaipur}

My amazing, wonderful family came in March to visit us in India.  I was nervous about them coming – what if they were too overwhelmed by the chaos? Suffered 24 train delays? Got sick?! It was my first time planning an entire trip for my family (who all have very different tastes), but to be honest I was thrilled by the opportunity.  I love planning trips, and though I pack things in a little tight (my mom and sister call it the “Debbie Roller Coaster”), I was pumped to plan the perfect trip.

DSC_0097

{Two pretty cool people}

The trip was a huge success.  Though I want to give my planning skills all the credit, the trip’s success really goes to our collective amazement that this trip, this once in a lifetime blessing, was actually happening.  Lately it’s been hard for all of us to get together even when we are in the same country, let alone halfway around the world. 

DSC_0766

{Ruins before brunch in Hauz Khas Village}

The trip had a lot of variety – from rocky overnight trains to five-star heritage hotels. Even my Mother, the biggest India skeptic, left the country saying, “You never know, I might even come back.”  This from the woman who told me a few months before, “India is on my C list. I have an A and B list already you know.” All of us were up for any challenge, as long as we got to do it together.

DSC_0110

{Elephant rides up the Amer Fort in Jaipur}

After hosting so many guests since arriving here, I’m considering investing my own guide flag for taking people around future visitors.  Here was our rough itinerary which is elaborated below for those considering an India trip of your own in and out of Delhi.

 DSC_0226

{Jal Mahal Heritage Hotel in Jaipur}

  • Day 1-5:Delhi and Agra.
  • Day 6-7: Udaipur, “City of Lakes”.
  • Day 7: Udaipur by Day.
  • Day 8-9: Overnight Train Hangover in Jaipur.
  • Day 10: Delhi Decompression.

2 thoughts on “Family Ties

Leave a Reply

