Drink Up

DSC_0653

{Hot chai tea made to order on the way to Rishikesh, Uttrakhand}

In DC I remember my drinks were pretty boring – just black coffee and water. Drinks in the US always come in huge intimidating sizes to me making soda, juice, etc. just seem like a huge sugary investment. You can easily find me defeated by half an odwalla juice, or a 12 ounce can of diet coke that goes unfinished. Nothing makes me feel less American than watching Evan down a 24 ounce Arizona Iced Tea or a super-sized “Venti-Caramel-Raspberry-Mocha-Frappaccino” from Starbucks (his personal favs).

But in India, drinks come in perfect small sizes for me (though they do look like shot glasses in Evan’s hand). I’m alwasy sipping on something: tea/chai, coffee, mango lassi, fresh lime soda, you name it, in petite 6-8 ounce servings.

DSC_0570

{Cappuccino and mocha from Mocha in Defence Colony Market}

DSC_0685

{Fresh lime soda plain}

DSC_0850

{A round of banana honey lemon lassis – my favorite yet – recipe to follow}

DSC_0706

{Hot, hot coffee}

Leave a Reply

