Won’t you be my neighbor?

DSC_1006

I was lucky enough to celebrate my birthday at home in Delhi this weekend with new friends, which included a housewarming party, a neighborhood block party, a long skype call with my family in California, and a delicious Chinese dinner.  The block party was a great addition – it had tons of street food-style catering, a raffle (where I won a cake and a facial!), and beautiful weather in our neighborhood park.  The block party made us feel grown up in a whole new way because we have rarely ever known our neighbors before.  This has been a marked difference in our Delhi lifestyle, mostly because everyone within a 2-mile radius knew exactly where Evan lived within our first week of being here (he is kind of hard to miss).  But we really are lucky to have had such great hospitality from so many friends, coworkers, and even our landlord who have helped us adjust to everyday life in Delhi.  I am definitely excited for this new (and hopefully more neighborly) chapter of my life.

DSC_0996

DSC_0994

DSC_0997

DSC_0989

DSC_0987

4 thoughts on “Won’t you be my neighbor?

  1. This is lovely! I’m so happy you had such a wonderful celebration – everything looks so fun. Happy belated birthday, Debbie!!

Leave a Reply

